Francisco López - Presque Tout (Quiet Pieces: 1993-2013)

LINE_065 | data DVD + Digital | limited edition of 500 | February 2014

Francisco López is an artist who has continued to challenge listeners with the fringes of acoustic perception over his 30+ year career. LINE is very happy to finally be releasing works with an artist who has so significantly influenced our notions of listening.

Presque Tout is a collection of works spanning 20 years of sonic activity. This 7 hour long edition presents some of the artist’s most tantalizingly subtle pieces. Re-defining the limits of “quiet? and “silent? well beyond any previous references in both conventional and experimental music, López has significantly contributed to the creation of an exceptional territory of sonic experince for the most adventurous listeners. Forcefully away from the “conceptual?; full of hidden complexity and detail; emphasizing the emotional, personal, and spiritual in the most unconventional and
unexpected ways.

This new LINE data DVD audio release charts for the first time that territory as a whole. Culled from many out of print editions, most of these compositions have been unavailable commercially for many years. Presque Tout also contains the stunning new 3 hour work “Untitled #313.?

This data DVD edition contains 7 hours of audio files (uncompressed 44kHz/16-bit).

WARNING: Due to the extreme subtlety of these recordings, virtually all of the audio content is completely inaudible through laptop or equivalent small speakers. Quality speakers or headphones—as well as a very quiet surrounding environment—are highly recommended for ideal listening.

01 El día anterior a la emergencia de los adultos de magicicada (1993) 15:23
02 untitled#78 (1997) 13:33
03 untitled#79 (1998) 12:01
04 untitled#85 (1998) 10:01
05 untitled#86 (1998) 12:33
06 untitled#87 (1999) 06:28
07 untitled#91 (1999) 58:03
08 untitled#93 (1999) 04:33
09 untitled#97 (1999) 05:08
10 untitled#100 (2000) 05:32
11 untitled#118 (2001) 05:31
12 untitled#120 (2001) 14:49
13 untitled#121 (2001) 19:34
14 untitled#129 (2002) 30:02
15 untitled#216 (2008) 08:50
16 untitled#309 (2013) 18:16
17 untitled#313 (2013) 3:00:00

Composed and created at Mobile Messor (worldwide). cover image by Francisco López.

Francisco López is internationally recognized as one of the major figures of the sound art and experimental music scene. For more than thirty years he has developed an astonishing sonic universe, absolutely personal and iconoclastic, based on a profound listening of the world. Destroying boundaries between industrial sounds and wilderness sound environments, shifting with passion from the limits of perception to the most dreadful abyss of sonic power, proposing a blind, profound and transcendental listening, freed from the imperatives of knowledge and open to sensory and spiritual expansion.

He has realized hundreds of concerts, projects with field recordings, workshops and sound installations in over sixty countries of the five continents. His extensive catalog of sound pieces (with live and studio collaborations with over 150 international artists) has been released by more than 300 record labels worldwide. He has been awarded four times with honorary mentions at the competition of Ars Electronica Festival and is the recipient of the Qwartz Award 2010 for best sound anthology.

Further information/reviews
For more information, please visit this product's webpage.

« back

Buy this item



Francisco López - Presque Tout (Quiet Pieces: 1993-2013)

Featured editions

Heitor Alvelos - Faith