BJNilsen - Focus Intensity Power

Vinyl + DL - 5 tracks - 43 minutes
Available for pre-order now

Track listing:

1. The Limits of Function
2. Beam Finder
3. Focus Intensity Power
4. Flattened Space
5. Table of Hours

For his inaugural LP for Moving Furniture Records the Amsterdam based Swedish sound artist BJ Nilsen turns his intense aural focus and compelling narrative power away from his well-known and much lauded predilection for field recordings of organic nature or the urban built environment. The five pieces presented on this record capture Nilsen during a short residency he did in the Fall of 2017 at Willem Twee Electronic Music Studio in Den Bosch, The Netherlands – five documents these are of improvised sessions using modular synthesizers, tone generators and test and measurement instruments.

Nilsen, ever the exploratory sound experimenter, de facto exchanged his wax rain coat for the white laboratory mantle. On Focus Intensity Power he lets the machines rule supreme. Although BJ says there's no underlying major concept to the record, the quintet of recordings is tied together to form a sturdy sonic package, tied with a red thread of analog pulse, droning waves and subtle and surprising noise interventions. Washes of natural wind or condensed bustle of London traffic as we have come to know and highly appreciate from his previous works have found their machine-counterparts in sessions that retain the flâneur's touch of slowly moving, roaming open ears with keen interest in texture and timbre. And at the same time these indoor improvisations yield a tremendous poetic freedom for both artist and listener; boundless walking through layers of pure sound – freed from time and place and space. [Sven Schlijper Karssenberg, July 2018]

About BJ Nilsen:

BJ Nilsen (SE) is a composer and sound artist based in Amsterdam. His work primarily focuses on the sounds of nature and how they affect humans. Recent work has explored the urban acoustic realm and industrial geography in the Arctic region of Norway and Russia. Nilsen's original scores and soundtracks have featured in theater, dance performances and film, in collaborations with Chris Watson, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Stilluppsteypa and others. He co-edited the book+CD publication The Acoustic City (2014), published by jovis. His solo albums Eye Of The Microphone (2013) and The Invisible City (2010) were released by Touch. In 2014, Nilsen collaborated with filmmaker Karl Lemieux on the audiovisual work unearthed, which was presented along with the Sonic Acts publication The Geologic Imagination. In 2017 Editions Mego released Massif Trophies – An exploration of the alpine soundscape.

About Moving Furniture Records

Moving Furniture Records is a label based in Amsterdam, The Netherlands specialized in releasing experimental electronic run by Sietse van Erve, started in October 2008. We are mostly interested in drones, minimalist, microtonal and field- recordings music. Moving Furniture Records has released music by both renowned, musicians such as Frans de Waard, Gareth Davis & Merzbow and Machinefabriek, as (young) new talent such as Find Hope In Darkness, Rose & Sandy and Haarvöl. Moving Furniture Records also organizes concerts in various venues in Amsterdam incl. DE RUIMTE, STEIM and OCCII.

Further information/reviews
For more information, please visit this product's webpage.

                                                                                                                                                                      « back

Buy this item

Apologies, this item is temporarily out of stock


BJNilsen - Focus Intensity Power

Customers also purchased


Featured editions

Blood Music - GPS Poetics